Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: AAACE News

AAACE 2017 Awards Presented

Tuesday, November 14, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |

AAACE Awards Presented at 2017 Annual Conference

Association Recognizes Leaders and Contributors in the Adult Education Community

The American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) community is proud to recognize and honor exemplary contributions to adult continuing education. The awards are a highly visible component of the association's statement about standards of excellence in the field.

The AAACE awards are bestowed upon deserving individuals and teams annually in recognition of outstanding leadership, service, knowledge, learners and practice in the field of adult education.

The awards were presented at the 2017 Annual Conference on November 2, 2017 in Memphis, TN. AAACE Past President Margaret Eggleston presided over the ceremony.

The award winners, categories and explanations are listed below.

Cyril O. Houle Award

for Outstanding Literature in Adult Education

The Cyril O. Houle Award was established in 1981 to honor the scholarship and memory of Cyril O. Houle, Professor of Adult Education at the University of Chicago. It is given annually by the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) for a book published in English in the previous year that reflects universal concerns of adult educators. Nominated works should exemplify outstanding literature in adult education.


2017 Award Recipient: Dr. Ellen Boeren

Lifelong Learning Participation in a Changing Policy Context: An Interdisciplinary Theory




2017 Award Recipient: Dr. Patricia Cranton

Promoting Transformative Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice



Malcolm Knowles Award

for Outstanding Adult Education Program Leadership

This award was established in the name of Malcolm S. Knowles for his distinguished contribution to theory and practice in the field of adult education from 1935 onward. A hallmark of "Malcolm's" work has been his popularization of the theory of andragogy — the art and science of helping adults learn — in the USA and the spread of its influence around the world. This award is intended to give recognition to an adult education program, including the personnel responsible for carrying out the program, in accordance with the andragogical process.

2017 Award Recipients: Dr. Carrie J. Boden and
Dr. Catherine A. Cherrstrom

Department of Occupational Workforce and Leadership Studies, Bachelor of Applied Arts and Science Program, Texas State University.



Outstanding Service Medallion

Recognizing Persons having an Outstanding Record of Service

This award honors an individual who has an outstanding record of service and achievement in adult and continuing education at the state, national, or international level.

2017 Award Recipient: Dr. Simone C. O. Conceição




Presidential Award

for Exceptional and Innovative Leadership in Adult and Continuing Education

In every field there are those who surpass their peers both in terms of their vision of the future and their ability to mobilize others in shaping that future. Leaders demonstrate a clear vision of what should be and a well-thought out strategy to achieve that vision. Leaders demonstrate their effectiveness by the results they achieve and by influencing outcomes by gaining the willing cooperation of colleagues/contemporaries in pursuing commonly held goals and objectives. This award is presented to persons from education, government, industry or other sectors who demonstrate exceptional and innovative leadership to or in support of adult and continuing education.

2017 Award Recipient: Dr. Jean E. A. Fleming





2017 Award Recipient: Dr. James E. Witte



Please click here for AAACE's Statement on Copyright