Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: AAACE News


Thursday, October 11, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |

AAACE Awards Presented at 2018 Annual Conference

Association Recognizes Leaders and Contributors in the Adult Education Community

The American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) community is proud to recognize and honor exemplary contributions to adult continuing education. The awards are a highly visible component of the association's statement about standards of excellence in the field.

The AAACE awards are bestowed upon deserving individuals and teams annually in recognition of outstanding leadership, service, knowledge, learners and practice in the field of adult education.

The awards were presented at the 2018 Annual Conference on October 4, 2018 in Myrtle Beach, SC. AAACE Past President Steve Fry presided over the ceremony.

The award winners, categories and explanations are listed below.

Cyril O. Houle Award

for Outstanding Literature in Adult Education

The Cyril O. Houle Award was established in 1981 to honor the scholarship and memory of Cyril O. Houle, Professor of Adult Education at the University of Chicago. It is given annually by the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) for a book published in English in the previous year that reflects universal concerns of adult educators. Nominated works should exemplify outstanding literature in adult education.


2018 Award Recipients: Dr. Amy Rose, Dr. Jovita Ross-Gordon, Dr. Carole Kasworm

Foundations of Adult and Continuing Education


Malcolm Knowles Award

for Outstanding Adult Education Program of the Year

This award was established in the name of Malcolm S. Knowles for his distinguished contribution to theory and practice in the field of adult education from 1935 onward. A hallmark of "Malcolm's" work has been his popularization of the theory of andragogy — the art and science of helping adults learn — in the USA and the spread of its influence around the world. This award is intended to give recognition to an adult education program, including the personnel responsible for carrying out the program, in accordance with the andragogical process.


2018 Award Recipients: Kenya (Ken) M. Harrison, Tony Q. Graddick and Dr. James R. Wilburn
The Veterans Education Training and Transition Program (VET2) at Georgia Tech.


Imogene Oakes Research Award

for Outstanding Research in Adult Education

This award recognizes persons whose research contributes significantly to the advancement of adult and continuing education and honors the memory of Imogene Okes, whose reports on adult education participation have been widely used and quoted in the field. It is given annually by the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) for a report of original research done by single or joint authors and published in English in the previous year for a work that reflects the ideals for which Imogene Okes stood. Nominated works exemplify outstanding and original research in adult education.


2018 Award Recipient: Dr. Bo Chang
Patterns of Knowledge Construction


President's Appreciation Award

for Outstanding Contributions to AAACE

This Award honors the person or persons who have exemplified outstanding contributions to AAACE during the past year. They have shown visible evidence of selfless dedication to projects while being committed to helping others in accomplishing their goals. It is given to the person or persons who have exhibited a standard of excellence while demonstrating leadership within a formal or non-traditional learning environment in meeting educational needs.

2018 Award Recipient: Dr. Christy M. Rhodes

Please click here for AAACE's Statement on Copyright