Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: AAACE News


Friday, October 18, 2019   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Terry Dougherty
Share |

AAACE Awards Presented at 2019 Annual Conference

Association Recognizes Leaders and Contributors in the Adult Education Community

The American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) community is proud to recognize and honor exemplary contributions to adult continuing education. The awards are a highly visible component of the association's statement about standards of excellence in the field.

The AAACE awards are bestowed upon deserving individuals and teams annually in recognition of outstanding leadership, service, knowledge, learners and practice in the field of adult education.

The awards were presented at the 2019 Annual Conference on October 10, 2019 in St. Louis, MO. AAACE Past President Jonathan Taylor presided over the ceremony.

The award winners, categories and explanations are listed below.

Cyril O. Houle Award

for Outstanding Literature in Adult Education

The Cyril O. Houle Award was established in 1981 to honor the scholarship and memory of Cyril O. Houle, Professor of Adult Education at the University of Chicago. It is given annually by the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) for a book published in English in the previous year that reflects universal concerns of adult educators. Nominated works should exemplify outstanding literature in adult education.


2019 Award Recipients: Laura Formenti, PhD and Dr. Linden West
ransforming Perspectives in Lifelong Learning and Adult Education


Malcolm Knowles Award

for Outstanding Adult Education Program of the Year

This award was established in the name of Malcolm S. Knowles for his distinguished contribution to theory and practice in the field of adult education from 1935 onward. A hallmark of "Malcolm's" work has been his popularization of the theory of andragogy — the art and science of helping adults learn — in the USA and the spread of its influence around the world. This award is intended to give recognition to an adult education program, including the personnel responsible for carrying out the program, in accordance with the andragogical process.


2019 Award Recipient: Julie Trott MS CMNIM G Cert Ed
SpecialtyCare Intraoperative Neuromonitoring Training Program


Imogene Oakes Research Award

for Outstanding Research in Adult Education

This award recognizes persons whose research contributes significantly to the advancement of adult and continuing education and honors the memory of Imogene Okes, whose reports on adult education participation have been widely used and quoted in the field. It is given annually by the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) for a report of original research done by single or joint authors and published in English in the previous year for a work that reflects the ideals for which Imogene Okes stood. Nominated works exemplify outstanding and original research in adult education.


2019 Award Recipient: Dr. Ramon B. Goings
Making Up for Lost Time: The Transition Experiences of Nontraditional Black Male Undergraduate

Outstanding Service Medallion

Recognizing Persons having an Outstanding Record of Service

This award honors an individual who has an outstanding record of service and achievement in adult and continuing education at the state, national, or international level.


2019 Award Recipient: Mejai B.M. Avoseh, PhD

Presidential Award

for Exceptional and Innovative Leadership in Adult and Continuing Education

In every field there are those who surpass their peers both in terms of their vision of the future and their ability to mobilize others in shaping that future. Leaders demonstrate a clear vision of what should be and a well-thought out strategy to achieve that vision. Leaders demonstrate their effectiveness by the results they achieve and by influencing outcomes by gaining the willing cooperation of colleagues/contemporaries in pursuing commonly held goals and objectives. This award is presented to persons from education, government, industry or other sectors who demonstrate exceptional and innovative leadership to or in support of adult and continuing education.

2019 Award Recipient: Susan Norton, PhD


President's Appreciation Award

for Outstanding Contributions to AAACE

This Award honors the person or persons who have exemplified outstanding contributions to AAACE during the past year. They have shown visible evidence of selfless dedication to projects while being committed to helping others in accomplishing their goals. It is given to the person or persons who have exhibited a standard of excellence while demonstrating leadership within a formal or non-traditional learning environment in meeting educational needs.


2019 Award Recipients: Leslie Cordie, BSN,MBA,PhD, Josie Andrews, Susan M. Yelich Biniecki, Anita Samuel, PhD and Amy Rose



CPAE Early Career Award

This award honors individuals who are in the early stages of their academic career, and who have made significant contributions in scholarship and service to the field.

2019 Award Recipient: Jill Zarestky, PhD


CPAE Curriculum Innovation Award

This award recognizes innovative approaches to the education of adult educators

2019 Award Recipient: University of Louisville


CGS Graduate Student Leadership Award

This award to recognizes a graduate student who have engaged in outstanding leadership, service, research, and practice to adult and continuing education.


2019 Award Recipient: Makena Neal


CCMNFE Outstanding Adult Educator Award

This award is given in appreciation of the dedication and service to adult learners in their community.

 2019 Award Recipient: Clarence "Clay" Ware


Marie Thériault, Université de Montréal says...
Posted Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Congratulations to all of you. Marie Thériault

Please click here for AAACE's Statement on Copyright