Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: AAACE News

AAACE 2015 Award Winners Announced

Thursday, November 19, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: AAACE
Share |

Press Contact Information:

Sarah Berke, CAE

American Association for Adult and Continuing Education


American Association for Adult and Continuing Education Awards Presented at 2015 Annual Conference

Association Recognizes Leaders and Contributors in the Adult Education Community

Atlanta, GA – November 19, 2015 – The American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) community is proud to recognize and honor exemplary contributions to adult continuing education. The awards are a highly visible component of the association's statement about standards of excellence in the field.

The AAACE awards are bestowed upon deserving individuals and teams annually in recognition of outstanding leadership, service, knowledge, learners and practice in the field of adult education.

The award ceremony took place during the 2015 Annual Conference on Nov. 19, 2015 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. AAACE Past President Steve Schmidt presided over the ceremony.

“This is the time when we honor individuals or teams who, through their unflagging dedication and continual hard work, enrich the field of adult education," Schmidt said. "Their contributions exemplify what is possible in the field, and we honor them here with these distinguished awards."

The award winners, categories and explanations are listed below:

Cyril O. Houle Award

for Outstanding Literature in Adult Education

The Cyril O. Houle Award was established in 1981 to honor the scholarship and memory of Cyril O. Houle, Professor of Adult Education at the University of Chicago. It is given annually by the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) for a book published in English in the previous year that reflects universal concerns of adult educators. Nominated works should exemplify outstanding literature in adult education.

2015 Award Recipient:
Dr. Carlos A. Torres, UCLA
The First Freire. Early Writings in Social Justice Education

Malcolm Knowles Award

for Outstanding Adult Education Program Leadership

This award was established in the name of Malcolm S. Knowles for his distinguished contribution to theory and practice in the field of adult education from 1935 onward. A hallmark of "Malcolm's" work has been his popularization of the theory of andragogy — the art and science of helping adults learn — in the USA and the spread of its influence around the world. This award is intended to give recognition to an adult education program, including the personnel responsible for carrying out the program, in accordance with the andragogical process.

2015 Award Recipient:
B.S. Degree in Adult and Career Education
Indiana State University
Dr. Steve McCaskey and Dr. Cindy Crowder

Imogene Okes

for Outstanding Research in Adult Education

Nominations are invited for the Imogene Okes Award. This award honors the memory of Imogene Okes, whose reports on adult education participation have been widely used and quoted in the field. It is given annually by the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) for a report of original research done by single or joint authors and published in English in the previous year for a work that reflects the ideals for which Imogene Okes stood. Nominated works should exemplify outstanding and original research in adult education.

2015 Award Recipients:
Dr. Eric Platt, University of Southern Mississippi
Dr. Lilian H. Hill, University of Southern Mississippi
“Research project: Spatial practices and the learned sex trade in the city that care forgot”

Presidential Award

for Exceptional and Innovative Leadership in Adult and Continuing Education

In every field there are those who surpass their peers both in terms of their vision of the future and their ability to mobilize others in shaping that future. Leaders demonstrate a clear vision of what should be and a well-thought out strategy to achieve that vision. Leaders demonstrate their effectiveness by the results they achieve and by influencing outcomes by gaining the willing cooperation of colleagues/contemporaries in pursuing commonly held goals and objectives. This award is presented to persons from education, government, industry or other sectors who demonstrate exceptional and innovative leadership to or in support of adult and continuing education.

2015 Award Recipient:
Dr. Jim Pappas, University of Oklahoma

President’s Appreciation Award

for Exemplary Commitment and Service to AAACE

The AAACE President's Appreciation Award identifies and honors the person or persons who have exemplified outstanding contributions to the Association during the past year. That person or persons must exhibit a standard of excellence.
2015 Award Recipient:
2014-2015 Board of Directors

Charles E. Baukal, Jr.
Marcie Boucouvalas
J. Bernard Bradley
Margaret A. Eggleston
Nancy Fire
Steven Frye
Chad Hoggan
M. Joanne Kantner
Larry G. Martin
Stephen McCaskey
Christy Rhodes
Federico Salas-Isnardi
Steven Schmidt
Jonathan Taylor
Jill Zarestky

Lifetime Service Award

in Appreciation of Years of Service and Dedication to AAACE

2015 Award Recipient:
Cle Anderson 

About the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE)

The American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) is a non-profit professional association whose mission is to provide leadership for the field of adult and continuing education by expanding opportunities for adult growth and development; unifying adult educators; fostering the development and dissemination of theory, research, information, and best practices; promoting identity and standards for the profession; and advocating relevant public policy and social change initiatives. AAACE 

 is dedicated to the belief that lifelong learning contributes to human fulfillment and positive social change. We envision a more humane world made possible by the diverse practice of our members in helping adults acquire the knowledge, skills and values needed to lead productive and satisfying lives.

For more information, please visit


Please click here for AAACE's Statement on Copyright