Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: Newsletter

Awards, Elections, and Transitions

Wednesday, December 16, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Jessica Atkinson
Share |

AAACE confers several categories of awards to recognize and honor exemplary contributions to adult and continuing education. The awards are a highly visible component of the association's statement about standards of excellence in the field. Watch for the call for award nominations each spring and consider nominating outstanding people and programs for the awards. Watch also for the call for nominations for elections to the board of directors and consider whether you or a colleague might want to assume one of these leadership roles. Visit for more information on the awards and election processes and AAACE's newly elected members of the Board of Directors.

Award Recipients 2015


Cyril O. Houle Award for Outstanding Literature in Adult Education:
Dr. Carlos A. Torres, UCLA
The First Freire. Early Writings in Social Justice Education


Malcolm Knowles Award for Outstanding Adult Education Program Leadership:
B.S. Degree in Adult and Career Education
Indiana State University
Dr. Steve McCaskey and Dr. Cindy Crowder    

Imogene Okes Award for Outstanding Research in Adult Education:
Dr. Eric Platt, University of Southern Mississippi
Dr. Lilian H. Hill, University of Southern Mississippi
“Research project: Spatial practices and the learned sex trade in the city that care forgot”




Presidential Award for Exceptional Leadership in Adult and Continuing Education
Dr. Jim Pappas, University of Oklahoma



President’s Appreciation Award for Exemplary Commitment and Service to AAACE

2014-2015 Board of Directors

  • Charles E. Baukal, Jr.
  • Marcie Boucouvalas
  • J. Bernard Bradley
  • Margaret A. Eggleston
  • Nancy Fire
  • Steven Frye
  • Chad Hoggan
  • M. Joanne Kantner
  • Larry G. Martin
  • Stephen McCaskey
  • Christy Rhodes
  • Federico Salas-Isnardi
  • Steven Schmidt
  • Jonathan Taylor
  • Jill Zarestky

Lifetime Service Award in Appreciation of Years of Service and Dedication to AAACE
Cle Anderson

Board of Director Member Elections

Welcome to AAACE's newly elected President-elect, Steve Frye! The President-elect is elected for one year, but moves to President for one year and then Past President for an additional year.


Steve Frye became president-elect of AAACE at the 2015 conference, transitioning from his position as the Director for the Commission of Affiliated Organizations (CAO). His leadership has expanded our numbers of affiliated organizations, successfully building its membership and influence within the association. Leslie Cordie, of Auburn University, is taking over the remainder of Steve’s term.

Valerie Ambrose is succeeding Joanne Kantner as the Co-Director of the Commission for Adult and Basic Literacy Education (CABEL). We appreciate Joanne’s work and look forward to her continued contributions to the association in a variety of roles.

At the 2015 conference, the Board recognized and thanked Past President Jean Fleming (2014-2015) for her many contributions to the organization. The standing ovation she received at the Business Meeting was an indication of the high esteem in which she is held by the association membership. Jean will serve another year on the board as Past President. Steve Schmidt, who was Past President, has now left the board. We appreciate his years of leadership and careful guidance in furthering the mission of the association.

Margaret Eggleston completed her term as president elect and 2015 conference chair, moving into the position of AAACE President.

Please click here for AAACE's Statement on Copyright