Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: AAACE News

AAACE 2016 Award Winners Announced

Monday, October 17, 2016   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Sarah Berke
Share |

Press Contact Information:
Sarah Berke, CAE
American Association for Adult and Continuing Education


American Association for Adult and Continuing Education Awards To Be Presented at 2016 Annual Conference

Association Recognizes Leaders and Contributors in the Adult Education Community

Atlanta, GA – October 17, 2016 – The American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) community is proud to recognize and honor exemplary contributions to adult continuing education. The awards are a highly visible component of the association's statement about standards of excellence in the field.

The AAACE awards are bestowed upon deserving individuals and teams annually in recognition of outstanding leadership, service, knowledge, learners and practice in the field of adult education.

The award ceremony will take place during the 2016 Annual Conference on November 10, 2016 in Albuquerque, NM. AAACE Past President Jean Fleming will preside over the ceremony.

“This is the time when we honor individuals or teams who, through their unflagging dedication and continual hard work, enrich the field of adult education," Fleming said. "Their contributions exemplify what is possible in the field, and we honor them here with these distinguished awards."

The award winners, categories and explanations are listed below:

Cyril O. Houle Award

for Outstanding Literature in Adult Education

The Cyril O. Houle Award was established in 1981 to honor the scholarship and memory of Cyril O. Houle, Professor of Adult Education at the University of Chicago. It is given annually by the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) for a book published in English in the previous year that reflects universal concerns of adult educators. Nominated works should exemplify outstanding literature in adult education.

2016 Award Recipient:
For Outstanding Literature in Adult Education
Feminism in Community: Adult Education for Transformation by Leona English (pictured right - top) and Catherine Irving (pictured right - bottom)

Gender, Experience and Knowledge in Adult Learning: Alisoun's Daughters by Elana Michelson (pictured left)

Malcolm Knowles Award

for Outstanding Adult Education Program Leadership

This award was established in the name of Malcolm S. Knowles for his distinguished contribution to theory and practice in the field of adult education from 1935 onward. A hallmark of "Malcolm's" work has been his popularization of the theory of andragogy — the art and science of helping adults learn — in the USA and the spread of its influence around the world. This award is intended to give recognition to an adult education program, including the personnel responsible for carrying out the program, in accordance with the andragogical process.

2016 Award Recipient:
For Outstanding Adult Education Program Leadership
M.S.Ed. in Adult Education in the Department of Instructional Systems Technology, School of Education, Indiana University at Bloomington
Dr. Frank Di Silvestro and Dr. Marjorie Treff

Outstanding Service Medallion

Recognizing Persons having an Outstanding Record of Service

This award honors an individual who has an outstanding record of service and achievement in adult and continuing education at the state, national, or international level.

2016 Award Recipient:
Gretchen T. Bersch

Presidential Award

for Exceptional and Innovative Leadership in Adult and Continuing Education

In every field there are those who surpass their peers both in terms of their vision of the future and their ability to mobilize others in shaping that future. Leaders demonstrate a clear vision of what should be and a well-thought out strategy to achieve that vision. Leaders demonstrate their effectiveness by the results they achieve and by influencing outcomes by gaining the willing cooperation of colleagues/contemporaries in pursuing commonly held goals and objectives. This award is presented to persons from education, government, industry or other sectors who demonstrate exceptional and innovative leadership to or in support of adult and continuing education.

2016 Award Recipient:
Dr. Victor C. X. Wang

About the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE)

The American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) is a non-profit professional association whose mission is to provide leadership for the field of adult and continuing education by expanding opportunities for adult growth and development; unifying adult educators; fostering the development and dissemination of theory, research, information, and best practices; promoting identity and standards for the profession; and advocating relevant public policy and social change initiatives. AAACE 

 is dedicated to the belief that lifelong learning contributes to human fulfillment and positive social change. We envision a more humane world made possible by the diverse practice of our members in helping adults acquire the knowledge, skills and values needed to lead productive and satisfying lives.

For more information, please visit



As a permanent learner and at 75 years old, finally, doctoral student, I would like to congratulate all of you for the "recognition of outstanding leadership, service, knowledge, learners and practice in the field of adult education." God bless you all Jayca002@FIU.EDU

Please click here for AAACE's Statement on Copyright