Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join or Create a Guest Account
About AAACE Awards
Share |

AAACE confers several categories of awards to recognize and honor exemplary contributions to adult continuing education. The awards are a highly visible component of the association's statement about standards of excellence in the field and recognize individual and team efforts for leadership, service, knowledge, learners and practice in the field. The AAACE awards process is under the leadership of the National Awards Committee. Awards nominations are open until June 7.  For details and to submit a nomination, please click on the award name below.

Guiding Principles:

The AAACE awards process is based on:

  • Having a limited, select number of association-wide awards to truly honor and recognize outstanding contributions to the field.
  • Honoring leadership, service, knowledge, learners and practice in the field.
  • Recognizing both individual and team or collective efforts.
  • Ensuring open communication about the awards, the selection criteria, and process for each award.


Cyril O. Houle Award
For Outstanding Literature in Adult Education

Imogene Okes Award
For Outstanding Research in Adult Education

Malcolm Knowles Award
For Outstanding Adult Education Program Leadership

Outstanding Service Medallion
Recognizing Persons having an Outstanding Record of Service

Presidential Award
For Exceptional and Innovative Leadership In Adult and Continuing Education

President's Appreciation Award
The President of AAACE selects the person or persons receiving this award.


The deadline for applications is early June. 

Awards Ceremony

The AAACE National Awards Program is held annually during the AAACE conference. Winners will be notified by letter in September after the awardees have been selected. Each AAACE national award is an annual award. However if a worthy recipient is not identified for any particular award, the award is not given that year.


Nominators of award winners will be notified in writing. Nominators of non-winners will also be notified in writing.

Please click here for AAACE's Statement on Copyright